ACNC Commissioner, Susan Pascoe AM, has been awarded the not-for-profit sector Influencer of the Year award at the inaugural Third Sector Awards held in Melbourne.

The Influencer of the Year – Judge's Choice Award recognises the impact and achievements of an individual who has made a significant impact on the not-for-profit sector.

The Chair of the ACNC Advisory Board and UNICEF Australia CEO, Tony Stuart, welcomed the announcement.

“The ACNC Advisory Board members and I were proud to hear that Susan had been recognised by the judges of the Third Sector Awards,” Mr Stuart said.

“This award demonstrates how highly the sector regards Susan and her leadership of the ACNC.

“Susan’s leadership, commitment, and integrity have seen the ACNC flourish since it was established nearly five years ago.”

Speaking at the ceremony in Melbourne, Commissioner Pascoe said she was surprised and delighted to receive the award.

“I was surprised to be nominated for this award,” Commissioner Pascoe said.

“But it truly is an honour to receive it.

“I would like to thank Third Sector, in partnership with the Centre for Social Impact, for acknowledging the contribution of many exceptional individuals in the not-for-profit sector through these awards.

“These awards are a reflection of the hard work and dedication of many, particularly my colleagues at the ACNC, and I represented them at the award ceremony with great pride.”

“I would also like to acknowledge the Australian Government’s support of the ACNC.”

ACNC Assistant Commissioner Murray Baird congratulated Commissioner Pascoe.

“It is fitting that Susan Pascoe’s leadership of the ACNC has been acknowledged by this significant award,” Assistant Commissioner Baird said.

“This is the second time in 12 months that Susan’s leadership has been recognised in this way. In November 2016, she was awarded the top Leadership in Government Award for Outstanding Contribution in Public Administration.

“Under Susan’s direction the ACNC has emerged as a firm but fair regulator that the sector and the public have come to trust.

“As Susan’s five-year term with the ACNC comes to an end on 30 September, this award is a timely acknowledgement of her consistent leadership and drive.”

More information about the Third Sector Awards and the judging panel can be found at

The ACNC congratulates all the winners and runners-up at the inaugural Third Sector Awards:

  • CEO of the Year
    Winner: Lisa Cotton – The Funding Network Australia
    Runner-up: Annabelle Daniel – Women’s Community Shelters
  • Board Director of the Year
    Winner: Nick Ridehalgh – Camp Quality
    Runner up: Maria Ilton – Heart Foundation
  • Campaign Manager of the Year
    Winner: Cheryl Johns – Good 360
    Runner-up: Susan Williams – Heart Foundation
  • Volunteer of the Year
    Winner: Norman Wong – Northside
    Runner-up: Simone O’Brien – White Ribbon Advocate
  • Social Entrepreneur of the Year
    Winner: Ido Leffler and Lance Kalish – Yoobi
    Runner-up: Josh Ross & Adam McCurdie – Humanitix
  • Young Leader of the Year
    Winner: Madaleine Buchner – Little dreamers
    Runner-up: Taj Pabari – Fiftysix Creations
  • Emerging Leader of the Year
    Winner: Hunter Johnson – HeadQuarters Australia
    Runner-up: Alexandra Iljadica – Youth Food Movement Australia
  • Influencer of the Year – Judge’s Choice
    Winner: Susan Pascoe AM – ACNC [pictured below]
susan award