All members of the current Advisory Board of the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC) have been renewed by Senator the Hon Zed Seselja, Assistant Minister for Finance, Charities and Electoral Matters.

Minister Seselja signed the instruments to renew all ACNC Advisory Board members for a further three-year period on 3 July 2020.

ACNC Commissioner the Hon Dr Gary Johns said, “We welcome the announcement of the Advisory Board re-appointments which will ensure we have continuity. The charity sector faces challenging times ahead and the expertise of Advisory Board members provides insight into unfolding issues and a substantial knowledge-base to draw on.”

The ACNC Advisory Board supports and advises the ACNC Commissioner. The Board is appointed by the Minister and consists of up to eight 'general members' with expertise in the not-for-profit sector, law, taxation or accounting, and office holders.

The Board can include ex-officio members who are appointed because they hold another specified office. General members are appointed for a term of up to three years. Ex-officio members remain on the Board as long as they hold the specified office. The Board meets quarterly.

The current ACNC Advisory Board:

  • Tony Stuart, Chair
  • Dr Martin Laverty, Deputy Chair
  • David Piggott, General member
  • Heather Watson, General member
  • Peter Hogan, General member
  • Dr Susan Alberti AC, General member
  • Dini Soulio, Ex-Officio member