The ACNC Commissioner is a statutory office holder appointed to administer the ACNC Act.

In December 2017, the then Assistant Minister to the Treasurer, the Hon Michael Sukkar MP announced the appointment of the Hon Dr Gary Johns as the new Commissioner of the ACNC for a term of five years.

Dr Johns' appointment followed the conclusion of Susan Pascoe AM's five-year term as the inaugural Commissioner of the ACNC.