Skip to main content

The ACNC's Stakeholder Engagement Framework outlines our commitment to engaging with, and being responsive to, the charities we regulate and other stakeholders.

Consulting with the sector ensures that we understand different points of view and are better equipped to make informed decisions about how we will meet our objects.

The ACNC's Adviser Forum forms an important part of our sector consultation efforts.


The Adviser Forum's membership is made up of invited professional advisers to the charity sector, primarily from the legal and accounting professions. The forum brings this membership together with ACNC representatives and invited observer members.

The Adviser Forum is able to comment on matters that will help the ACNC improve its regulation of charities and to be open and accountable about the way we operate.

The ACNC can seek comment and feedback from members of the Adviser Forum on:

  • emerging issues impacting the sector and the provision of service to the sector
  • approved forms
  • policies
  • education and guidance materials.

Participation, membership and tenure

The ACNC Adviser Forum meets twice a year – once separately to the Sector Forum and once combined with it.

Adviser Forum members are invited to participate for a two-year term. This term can be extended by invitation of the ACNC.

Forum membership is capped at 35 and reflects the diversity of the sector.

Organisation Representative
Gadens Biljana Apostolova - Partner
HLB Mann Judd Advisory and Accounting Aidan Smith - Partner
Prolegis Lawyers Jae Yang - Partner
Platform Legal John Altmann - Principal Solicitor
Maddocks Paul Ellis - Special Counsel
CPA Australia Ram Subramanian - Senior Manager
Australian Audit Robert Campbell - Director
Mills Oakley Vera Visevic - Partner
Herbert Smith Freehills Alice Macdougall - Special Counsel
Corney & Lind Lawyers Jessica Lipsett - Director
Justice Connect Amy Williams - Principal Lawyer
Gilbert + Tobin

Elizabeth Lathlean - Lawyer

NFP Legal and Governance Network Elaine Leong - Chair and Convenor
Grant Thornton

Eric Passaris - Partner

Elizabeth Lucas - Partner

Law Council of Australia - Charities and Not-for-Profits Committee Seak-King Huang - Partner
Lewis Holdway Lawyers Elizabeth Shalders - Special Counsel
Governology Pty Ltd Jonathan Casson - Principal
Carroll & O’Dea Lawyers Josephine Heesh - Partner
Mayes Law Lesleigh Mayes - Principal Solicitor
Mutual Trust - representing the Tax Institute Maria Lui - Partner representing The Tax Institute
Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CA ANZ) Melanie Scott - Senior Policy Advocate
Add-Ministry Inc Noel Harding - Senior Consultant
Paxton-Hall Lawyers Paul Paxton-Hall - Director
Saward Dawson Peter Shields - Partner
Moores Rebecca Lambert-Smith - Practice Leader
Arnold Bloch Leibler Bridgid Cowling - Special Counsel
Fowler Charity Law Pty Ltd Mark Fowler - Principal
Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD)

Simon Mitchell - Senior Policy Advisor

Governance Institute of Australia Ltd Catherine Maxwell - General Manager
Victorian Bar Jennifer Batrouney AM KC
Macpherson Kelley Sarah Johnson - Principal Lawyer
Hundt Law Richard Hundt - Principal Lawyer
Not for Profit Accounting Specialists (NFPAS) Ellie Paterson - Consulting Chief Financial Officer
Australian Taxation Office (ATO) Jennifer Moltisanti - Assistant Commissioner

Jacky Rowbotham - Assistant Secretary

Australian Accounting Standards Board (AASB) Fridrich Housa - Deputy Technical Director